Proud Mummy Moment

It’s the little things that mean so much, but it’s also the little things we tend to forget. My son had been playing with his play kitchen this morning. I’m not sure what was happening in his own head but there was clacking and giggling; opening and closing, and the odd bit of babbling and dancing. 


10 minutes is about enough playtime and then it’s on to something different. George is still only 24 months old so either hasn’t mastered what clearing away toys is or he’s playing me like a champion. As I went over to scoop away his trip hazards I noticed a little box of eggs that had started this playtime as completely separate pieces. He’d tidied them back together and into their box. It made my heart melt. My little boy did that. 😍


I realise I’m showing you a box of toy eggs and expecting you to get all gooey inside. Well actually I’m not. I know this makes me a big softie but I’m actually just sharing my emotions. I don’t expect you to have the same emotion as this is a classic “baby bore” post. I guess I’m just saying that it’s the little things that make us proud as parents: not just being top of the class, walking at the average developmental milestone or going potty for the first time. Don’t get me wrong they are all moments that make us proud but between those “big” moments there are lots of tiny filler proud moments that keeps our baby love counter topped up. I just didn’t want to forget this one. 

So the next time a mother (or any parent) shows you a picture of a box of toy eggs; or a scribble on construction paper or a picture of the child smiling covered in last nights dinner: instead of thinking “oh my I’m supposed to be excited about this?” Instead think “well that nice you’ve got something so simple that makes you so happy”. 

You might see a few more proud mummy posts popping up but at least I’ve explained myself now. 

Do you agree with me or do you think this is just a baby bore post? 

Thank you for reading

Leave a Reply

