Jealousy Worries After Having a New Baby

I had always wanted more than one child. It boils down to my own experiences as a child. I grew up with an older brother and we are so close and have been from since before I can remember. We may have had a few sibling arguments but on the grand scale of things I love him to bits and I loved having a big brother growing up. I wanted to have children and my children to have a similar experience. However, all children are different and I know plenty of people who have children that don’t get along. What if my children do nothing but fight and bicker? 

What if my children don’t get along?

Throughout the pregnancy people would ask if I was worried about my eldest George being jealous of the new baby. I would say that I wasn’t overly concerned. George is quite independent for a baby in a sense that he’s not too clingy and will happily play with other people and children. As he is so sociable I thought all would be well when the new baby came home.

Olivia came home 6 weeks ago and there was a new look that George cast which I had not seen before. It was a look of suspicion. It didn’t appear at first but when he noticed that this tiny person was demanding a lot of my love and attention he just couldn’t figure out why. I did my best to play with George where I could and I would talk to him even if I was holding Olivia to let him know I loved him still. 

Will his suspicions grow into more sinister feelings?


After a week George started to do a fake cry or throw tantrums for no reason. He would also bring me things such as his toys or food when I was feeding Olivia. I know he was just resting whether I still cared about him. Eventually, he started to look less suspiciously of Olivia. 

I suppose it is hard for him as most of the day she was sleeping in her Moses basket and so out of sight, or in my arms so out of reach. A newborn is not a play thing and they don’t do very much that would interest a 23 month old. 

He’s not mean to her but he just doesn’t know what to do around her


After 3 weeks George started to come around. I was cuddling Olivia on the sofa and he climbed up for a cuddle too. I was able to get my other arm around him. He had his suspicious look about him as he reached over to Olivia. Then he smiled and said “baby” before gently stroking her head.   I gave him the biggest smile and agreed “yes, Olivia is your baby sister”. He smiled back and then settled in for a cuddle. I think it was at that point he accepted that I could be shared and that I still loved him. 


Those beautiful moments have started to come more frequently. He will rock the moses basket and if he’s running he will slow down to carefully step around her if I’m playing on the floor with her. I can see he enjoys getting the positive smiles and attention from being kind and this is making for many a cute moment between the pair. 

I think he loves her


I hope they love each other as much as I love my big brother. 

One comment

  1. What a lovely post Adele. As your mother it makes me proud that you have connections with your own memories from childhood. You are an amazing mother and all the love and attention that you are giving your babies, will pay off and give you many heartwarming moments for the rest of your life. I’m sure that there are many older mothers, like myself, out there that will agree.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

