Is It really Goodnight for Toby the Bear?

A beautiful children’s story which reminds you of the love they have for their comforting companions. But where can I get it from? 

I’m going to start off with an apology. I’m sorry but the book I’m about to talk about isn’t actually available for sale anywhere. Although, maybe if there is enough momentum I may be able to convince the author to publish.

Many moons ago, before I was even married, my sister-in-law showed me a children’s book that she had written and printed. Not only had she had developed a character called Toby who was a little girls teddy bear but she has also beautifully illustrated every page. Paula told me the bear had got his name from a cheeky little Jack Russel dog she remembered lived next door to her when she was younger. 

I remember being really impressed. It was printed and bound so I had presumed at the time that it had been published. I was wrong.

I am now married and have 2 children so some time has passed. Then yesterday I remembered this book. How wonderful would it be to read the adventures of Toby to my own children? I asked Paula if the book was available to purchase anywhere and she told me that it had never been published… oh no!

I couldn’t bear for Toby the bear (no pun intended) not to be shared with the world so I decided to write a post about him.


In the book Toby goes to bed with his beloved pal. Each page shows the little girls routine and how Toby is lovingly dragged or dumped in various places around the house as she perpares for bed. 

Here Toby is being taken carefully upstairs 


Now it’s time to brush your teeth. Careful Toby.


Toby continues on his bedtime journey and eventually end up being lovingly tucked into bed with his adoring companion.


I do hope I haven’t ruined the ending


What I love about the book is that it teaches a good bedtime routine. The book keeps to a simple routine with words but the beautiful illustrations allow you to talk more to your own child about their own routine. It’s nice as you can relate it to your own little one and their soft toy or comforter. My son has a soft toy called lamby. He will not sleep without it and take him everywhere. I’m so scared of losing it he’s not allowed it outside the house. For outdoor adventures he has monkey, who is now becoming an almost equal to lamby… oh dear. 

Paula has made many more illustrations in preparation for a series of books about Toby’s adventures, but alas they are tucked away. I do hope she reconsiders releasing the book and hopefully making some more books for children to enjoy. This surely can’t be the final goodnight for Toby… can it?

If you think you would like to see more of Toby please share or leave a comment.

Thank you for reading

Goodnight 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

