Cuddles With My Cuties

There’s something about having a cuddle with your baby or child that strikes an inner calm. I don’t mean the cuddles you give when your baby has wind or they’ve taken a tumble and need comfort. I’m talking about those “just because” cuddles. 


I’ve been appreciating those cuddles recently. It’s a time when time doesn’t matter, I am in the moment with my baby and they are there with me. It’s a time when they can feel safe and loved and where I feel like my love for them folds out and over them like a warm blanket. 

We listen to each other breathe, give light tickles, rest our heavy heads, and flex our toes as we relax and just enjoy the moment together. 


It’s easier to find a moment to enjoy these cuddles with my 6 week old Olivia than with 2 year old George. He loves to explore the world with his toy car, cook in his kitchen or count to ten and spot shapes over and over. However, this makes the times when he comes in for cuddles extra special. It’s important not to miss those opportunities. More often than not just a touch of physical contact is all George needs… just so he knows I’m there and visa versa.

So if you come to visit one time and my house is a mess, I have a pile of ironing and I’m not even dressed pleased don’t presume I’ve been lazy. I’ve been showing my children how much I love them. 

It is simply bliss. 

I’m often guilty of rushing around so much that I don’t stop long enough to take stock of what is happening. If you’re guilty of that too I hope you find the time to have a minute and enjoy the moment. It really helps me to clear your mind and put my objectives into focus. This stopping helps me to get started again… only happier. Some might even call it meditation.

What has made you happier today?

Thank you for reading

Leave a Reply

